#EuropeanCommission – von der Leyen presents list of new commissioners

| September 9, 2019

European Commission President Juncker meets President-elect Ursula von der Leyen

President-elect Ursula von der Leyen today (9 September) formally presented her draft list of commissioners-designate, however, Commission watchers will have to wait until tomorrow to find out the portfolio of each one, writes Catherine Feore.  

Although politically neutral, Commissioners reflect the political balance of the EU. There are ten commissioners from the European People’s Party (EPP)  – including von der Leyen; from the Socialists and Democrats group (S&D); five fron Renew Europe (RE – formerly the Alliance of Liberal Democrats); one European Conservatives and Reformists (ECR) and two independent candidates – one of whom is loosely affiliated with the Greens.  

This follows a series of formal interviews President-elect von der Leyen held over the past weeks with each of the persons suggested by the member states as candidates for commissioner. The Council of the European Union must now adopt this list, in accordance with Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union (TEU).  

Not plain sailing  

Once designated there is a set of hearings in the European Parliament in front of the relevant committee. The European Parliament must then give its consent to the entire College of Commissioners, including the president and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the European Commission. Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the European Council formally appoints the European Commission. 


Facebook comments

Tags: , , ,

Category: A Frontpage, Economy, EU, EU, European Commission, featured, Featured Article, Politics

Comments are closed.