العلامة: سيراليون

إيبولا يترك مئات الآلاف يواجهون الجوع في ثلاثة بلدان تضررا

إيبولا يترك مئات الآلاف يواجهون الجوع في ثلاثة بلدان تضررا

من المتوقع أن يصل عدد الأشخاص الذين يواجهون انعدام الأمن الغذائي بسبب وباء الإيبولا في غينيا وليبريا وسيراليون إلى أكثر من مليون شخص بحلول مارس / آذار 2015 ما لم تتحسن بشكل كبير إمكانية الحصول على الغذاء ويتم وضع تدابير لحماية إنتاج المحاصيل والثروة الحيوانية ، حسبما حذرت وكالتان من وكالات الأمم المتحدة . من المحتمل أن يكون تأثير المرض مدمرًا في […]

مواصلة القراءة

الركاب القادمين من سيراليون الى المستشفى في بروكسل لفيروس إيبولا الشك

وذكرت الصحيفة البلجيكية يبر بلجيك والركاب القادمين على متن رحلة جوية من سيراليون الى بروكسل في المستشفى للاشتباه في إصابتها بفيروس ايبولا المميت، مع نتائج الاختبار المتوقع أن تكون جاهزة في وقت لاحق يوم الاثنين (3 نوفمبر). لاحظ طاقم الطائرة بروكسل إيرلاينز أن أحد الركاب المسافرين من [...]

مواصلة القراءة

الاتحاد الأوروبي يرتكب € 150m لوقف الايبولا الوصول إلى أوروبا

الاتحاد الأوروبي يرتكب € 150m لوقف الايبولا الوصول إلى أوروبا

وقد رحب أعضاء البرلمان الأوروبي العمل على قرار لارتكاب المزيد من 150 مليون € في تمويل الاتحاد الأوروبي لمكافحة فيروس إيبولا، في مناقشة عاجلة في ستراسبورغ اليوم (18 سبتمبر). و€ 11.9m التوجه نحو وقف انتشار فوري للفيروس القاتل في غرب أفريقيا، مع مزيد من € 140m لبناء مرافق الرعاية الصحية في [...]

مواصلة القراءة

استجابة واسعة أوروبا إلى وباء ايبولا

استجابة واسعة أوروبا إلى وباء ايبولا

بيان مفوض التنمية أندريس بيبالجس ، المساعدة الإنسانية والاستجابة للأزمات ، المفوضة كريستالينا جورجيفا ومفوض الصحة تونيو بورغ ، عقب الحدث الرفيع المستوى لتنسيق الاستجابة لتفشي الإيبولا في غرب أفريقيا. "إن الاتحاد الأوروبي يشعر بقلق بالغ من وباء الإيبولا في غرب أفريقيا ، حيث يستمر الوضع في التدهور. أفكارنا مع […]

مواصلة القراءة

الاتحاد الأوروبي يعلن عن مشاريع كهربة الريف لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لأكثر من 2 مليون شخص في المناطق الريفية الفقيرة

الاتحاد الأوروبي يعلن عن مشاريع كهربة الريف لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لأكثر من 2 مليون شخص في المناطق الريفية الفقيرة

مفوض تنمية اندريس بيبالجس واليوم (4 يونيو) تكشف عن مشاريع الطاقة 16 التي ستتلقى 95 مليون € التمويل، وذلك بفضل برنامج الكهربة الريفية الجديدة للاتحاد الأوروبي. وتشمل المشاريع المائية وطاقة الرياح ومشاريع الطاقة الشمسية والكتلة الحيوية في تسعة بلدان أفريقية. فإن مشاريع معالجة تحديات الطاقة في المناطق الريفية والتي هي جزء من الاتحاد الأوروبي في [...]

مواصلة القراءة

أوروبا لا يزال في عداد المفقودين 42 مليار € للمساعدة في الوصول إلى الأهداف الفقر في العالم

أوروبا لا يزال في عداد المفقودين 42 مليار € للمساعدة في الوصول إلى الأهداف الفقر في العالم

على 8 أبريل، احتفل أوكسفام صحفي ان المانحين زادت مساعدات التنمية، ولكن أكثر من أغنى الحكومات الأوروبية لا تزال تفشل في الوفاء بالتزاماتها تهدف إلى التخفيف من حدة الفقر العالمي وخفض التفاوت الاقتصادي. ومنظمة التنمية في جميع أنحاء العالم ردا على إطلاق اليوم من الشخصيات المساعدات الخارجية 2013 من قبل منظمة التعاون والتنمية، والتي تظهر صغيرة [...]

مواصلة القراءة

دعم الاتحاد الأوروبي لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لمليوني شخص في أفريقيا

دعم الاتحاد الأوروبي لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لمليوني شخص في أفريقيا

لديه المفوضية الأوروبية اليوم (1 أبريل) أعلنت نتائج الدعوة الأولى لتقديم مقترحات لبرنامج مبتكر لتوفير التمويل لتوصيل الكهرباء إلى المواطنين الأكثر فقرا في العالم. ويوضح هذه المبادرة أيضا أن الاتحاد الأوروبي قد كانت رائدة في حملة لتوفير الطاقة المستدامة للجميع. منح 95 مليون € [...]

مواصلة القراءة

Tag: Sierra Leone

Ebola leaves hundreds of thousands facing hunger in three worst-hit countries

Ebola leaves hundreds of thousands facing hunger in three worst-hit countries

| December 17, 2014 | 0 Comments

The number of people facing food insecurity due to the Ebola epidemic in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone could top one million by March 2015 unless access to food is drastically improved and measures are put in place to safeguard crop and livestock production, two UN agencies warned.  The disease’s impact is potentially devastating in […]

Continue Reading

Passenger arriving from Sierra Leone hospitalized in Brussels on Ebola suspicion

| November 3, 2014 | 0 Comments

A passenger arriving on a flight from Sierra Leone to Brussels was hospitalized on suspicion of being infected with the deadly Ebola virus, with the test results expected to be ready later on Monday (3 November), the Belgian Libre Belgique newspaper reported. The Brussels Airlines flight crew noticed that one of the passengers traveling from […]

Continue Reading

EU commits €150m to stop Ebola reaching Europe

EU commits €150m to stop Ebola reaching Europe

| September 18, 2014 | 0 Comments

Labour MEPs have welcomed the decision to commit more than €150 million in EU funding to the fight against Ebola, in an urgent debate in Strasbourg today (18 September). €11.9m will go towards stopping the immediate spread of the deadly virus in West Africa, with a further €140m to build health care facilities in the […]

Continue Reading

Europe-wide response to Ebola epidemic

Europe-wide response to Ebola epidemic

| September 15, 2014 | 0 Comments

Statement by Development Commissioner Andris Piebalgs, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response, Commissioner Kristalina Georgieva and Health Commissioner  Tonio Borg, following the high-level event to co-ordinate the response to the Ebola outbreak in West Africa. “The EU is gravely concerned by the Ebola epidemic in West Africa, where the situation continues to deteriorate. Our thoughts are with […]

Continue Reading

EU announces rural electrification projects to provide access to energy for more than 2 million people in poor rural areas

EU announces rural electrification projects to provide access to energy for more than 2 million people in poor rural areas

Development Commissioner Andris Piebalgs will today (4 June) reveal the 16 energy projects that will receive €95 million funding, thanks to the EU’s new rural electrification programme. The projects include hydro, wind, solar and biomass projects across nine African countries. The projects will address energy challenges in rural areas and are part of the EU’s […]

Continue Reading

Europe still missing €42 billion to help reach global poverty goals

Europe still missing €42 billion to help reach global poverty goals

On 8 April, Oxfam celebrated news that donors had increased their development aid spending, but most of Europe’s wealthiest governments still fail to meet promises designed to alleviate global poverty and slash economic inequality. The worldwide development organization was responding to today’s release of 2013 overseas aid figures by the OECD, which show a small […]

Continue Reading

EU support to provide access to energy to two million people in Africa

EU support to provide access to energy to two million people in Africa

The European Commission has today (1 April) announced the results of the first call for proposals of an innovative programme for providing finance to bring electricity to the world’s poorest citizens. This initiative also shows that the EU has been a leader in the campaign to provide Sustainable Energy for All. Grants of €95 million […]

Continue Reading