Connect with us

EU Digital COVID Certificate

EU Digital COVID Certificate: Commission adopts equivalence decisions for Singapore and Togo




We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you've consented to and to improve our understanding of you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The Commission has adopted two new decisions certifying that COVID-19 certificates issued by Singapore and Togo are equivalent to the EU Digital COVID Certificate. As a result, the two countries will be connected to the EU's system. The EU will accept their COVID certificates under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificate. This means that holders of certificates issued by these two countries will be able to use them under the same conditions as holders of an EU Digital COVID Certificate. At the same time, the two countries agreed to accept the EU Digital COVID Certificate for travel from the EU to their countries.

Justice Commissioner Didier Reynders welcomed the increasing number of countries joining the EU's effort and highlights: “To date, we have 51 countries and territories in five continents that are now connected to the EU Digital COVID Certificate system. I am delighted also that we have the first Southeast Asian country and the first sub-Saharan African country that will be interconnected to the Digital COVID Certificate. With the end of the year holidays approaching, I want to reaffirm to travellers the importance of this tool to underpin the confidence to travel inside and outside the EU.”

The two Commission decisions adopted today will enter into force as of 25 November 2021. More information on the EU Digital COVID Certificate can be found on the dedicated website.


Share this article:

EU Reporter publishes articles from a variety of outside sources which express a wide range of viewpoints. The positions taken in these articles are not necessarily those of EU Reporter.