Connect with us

Gender equality

2022 European Women's Leadership Award to eight women from around the globe




We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you've consented to and to improve our understanding of you. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Three years ago, we had the idea to create an award for extraordinary women: the European Women's Leadership Award. We are focusing on women who at a certain moment of their life, have decided to follow their dream, to break with traditional obligations around them, to challenge male- dominated areas, to act in a respectful way in order to give an example to all those women, who do not (yet) dare to raise their voice and to develop their potential.

This year, the following eight women have been chosen:

Chantal Hemerijckx (Belgium),
Thao Kilbee (Vietnam, Belgium),
Marie-Dolores Mabuila (DRC, Belgium),
Monique Ouassa (Benin),
Rita Ricketts (New Zealand, UK),
Jamila Sedqi (Morocco),
Svetlana Spaic (Yugoslavia, Serbia, Paris),
Melody Sucharewicz (Germany, Israel).

The awards will be handed over and the laureates will be honoured during an award winning ceremony. The first ceremony took place in March 2019 in the European Parliament in Brussels. Since then - due to the COVID-19 restrictions - the ceremonies are hosted by the Brussels EU Representation of the German “Land” of Hesse.

You will find here the link to last year's ceremony:

This year, the fourth ceremony will take place on Wednesday, 02 March and the awards will be handed over by the EP Vice- President MEP Nicola Beer. As it looks now - taking into consideration the restrictions to combat COVID-19 - the bi-lingual (English/French) event will be a hybrid one, starting at 18.00. We will inform you in time on the details.

Forum International du Leadership Féminin (


Share this article:

EU Reporter publishes articles from a variety of outside sources which express a wide range of viewpoints. The positions taken in these articles are not necessarily those of EU Reporter.