العلامة: جنوب السودان

#HumanRights: H. هيتشيليما في زامبيا، الدكتور غودينا في إثيوبيا وجنوب السودان

#HumanRights: H. هيتشيليما في زامبيا، الدكتور غودينا في إثيوبيا وجنوب السودان

البرلمان الأوروبي يعرب عن قلقه إزاء اعتقال زعماء المعارضة في زامبيا وإثيوبيا وتدعو إلى وضع حد للحرب في جنوب السودان، في ثلاثة قرارات صوتت يوم الخميس (18 مايو). المحاكمة العادلة اللازمة لزعيم المعارضة هيتشيليما في السلطات الإثيوبية زامبيا يجب إطلاق سراح الدكتور ميريرا غودينا الاتحاد الأوروبي بتكثيف المساعدات الإنسانية [...]

مواصلة القراءة

#SouthSudan: الاتحاد الأوروبي يطلق 40 مليون € مع تفاقم الوضع الإنساني

#SouthSudan: الاتحاد الأوروبي يطلق 40 مليون € مع تفاقم الوضع الإنساني

لديه المفوضية الأوروبية اليوم (28 يوليو) أعلن 40 مليون € في المساعدة الإنسانية الطارئة للمتضررين من الأزمة في جنوب السودان، ليصل إجمالي الدعم من اللجنة إلى € 103m ل2016. ويأتي هذا التمويل وتفاقم الوضع الإنساني في البلاد، مع أكثر من 40,000 النازحين في أعقاب اندلاع [...]

مواصلة القراءة

#SouthSudan: حماية المدنيين في زمن الحرب

#SouthSudan: حماية المدنيين في زمن الحرب

بعد خمس سنوات من الفوز في معركة من أجل الاستقلال ، لا يزال جنوب السودان متورطا في حرب أهلية شرسة. بشكل مأساوي ، كما هو الحال في كثير من الأحيان ، يتحمل المدنيون وطأة العنف وسنوات طويلة من المشقة ، ويكتب ديفيد Derthick. اليوم ، 200,000 جنوب السودان يعيشون في مواقع الأمم المتحدة المحمية ، بعد أن هربوا إلى قواعد حفظ السلام […]

مواصلة القراءة

ويقترح الاتحاد الأوروبي لتعزيز المساعدات الإنسانية التي 50 مليون € مفوضا ستايليانيدس يزور جنوب السودان

ويقترح الاتحاد الأوروبي لتعزيز المساعدات الإنسانية التي 50 مليون € مفوضا ستايليانيدس يزور جنوب السودان

المساعدات الإنسانية وإدارة الأزمات المفوض كريستوس ستايليانيدس (في الصورة)، الذي يزور جنوب السودان، يعلن أن اللجنة تطلب دعما حيويا جديدا في كمية 50 مليون € من الاتحاد الأوروبي لضحايا هذه الأزمة الإنسانية. "لقد شهدت بأم العين المعاناة الهائلة للشعب جنوب السودان. الناس الذين […]

مواصلة القراءة

إثيوبيا: الاتحاد الأوروبي يزيد من التمويل الإنساني للاجئين

إثيوبيا: الاتحاد الأوروبي يزيد من التمويل الإنساني للاجئين

وتقوم المفوضية الأوروبية بتقديم مبلغ إضافي 5 مليون € لتلبية احتياجات العدد المتزايد من اللاجئين في إثيوبيا. أصبحت البلاد أكبر دولة المضيفة للاجئين في أفريقيا: أنها تأوي أكثر من 643,000 اللاجئين. معظمهم من الفارين من النزاع في جنوب السودان ويواجهون سوء التغذية و[...]

مواصلة القراءة

يوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني: العالم يحتاج الأبطال أكثر إنسانية، وتقول منظمة الرؤية العالمية

يوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني: العالم يحتاج الأبطال أكثر إنسانية، وتقول منظمة الرؤية العالمية

الرأي على الصعيد العالمي، هناك أكثر من 60 مليون شخص في حاجة إلى المساعدات الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء العالم زيادة التعاون الدولي لحماية العاملين في المجال الإنساني في خطر يحتاج الاتحاد الأوروبي لتحسين تنسيق سياستها المساعدات الإنسانية مع السياسات الأخرى لضمان الاستجابة السريعة والفعالة في منطقة النزاع منذ 2008، الرؤية العالمية جنبا إلى جنب مع [...]

مواصلة القراءة

دعم أوروبا للعمل الإنساني

دعم أوروبا للعمل الإنساني

كل عام على 19 أغسطس، لوحظ اليوم العالمي للعمل الإنساني في ذكرى ضحايا الهجوم على مقر الأمم المتحدة في بغداد (العراق) في 2003 الذي تسبب في وفاة شخص 22 بما في ذلك الممثل الخاص للأمم المتحدة في العراق سيرجيو فييرا دي ميلو . الاتحاد الأوروبي - الولايات جنة وعضو [...]

مواصلة القراءة

Make a €1 donation to EU Reporter Now

Tag: South Sudan

#HumanRights: H. Hichilema in Zambia, Dr Gudina in Ethiopia, South Sudan

#HumanRights: H. Hichilema in Zambia, Dr Gudina in Ethiopia, South Sudan

The European Parliament expresses concern about arrests of opposition leaders in Zambia and Ethiopia and calls for an end to the war in South Sudan, in three resolutions voted on Thursday (18 May). Fair trial needed for opposition leader Hichilema in Zambia Ethiopian authorities should release Dr Merera Gudina EU should step up humanitarian aid […]

Continue Reading

#SouthSudan: EU releases €40 million as humanitarian situation worsens

#SouthSudan: EU releases €40 million as humanitarian situation worsens

The European Commission has today (28 July) announced €40 million in emergency humanitarian assistance for people affected by the crisis in South Sudan, bringing the total support from the Commission to €103m for 2016. The funding comes as the humanitarian situation worsens in the country, with more than 40,000 people displaced following the eruption of […]

Continue Reading

#SouthSudan: Protecting civilians in a time of war

#SouthSudan: Protecting civilians in a time of war

Five years after winning a hard-fought battle for independence, South Sudan remains embroiled in a vicious civil war. Tragically, as is so often the case, the civilians are bearing the brunt of the violence and enduring years of hardship, writes David Derthick. Today, 200,000 South Sudanese are living in UN-protected sites, having fled to peacekeeping bases […]

Continue Reading

EU proposes to boost humanitarian aid by €50 million as Commissioner Stylianides visits South Sudan

EU proposes to boost humanitarian aid by €50 million as Commissioner Stylianides visits South Sudan

Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management Commissioner Christos Stylianides (pictured), who is visiting South Sudan, announces that the Commission is requesting new vital support in the amount of €50 million from the European Union for the victims of this humanitarian crisis. “I have witnessed first-hand the immense suffering of the people of South Sudan. People who […]

Continue Reading

Ethiopia: EU increases humanitarian funding for refugees

Ethiopia: EU increases humanitarian funding for refugees

| October 23, 2014 | 0 Comments

The European Commission is providing an additional €5 million to respond to the needs of the growing number of refugees in Ethiopia. The country has become the largest refugee-hosting nation in Africa: it is sheltering more than 643,000 refugees. Most of them are fleeing the conflict in South Sudan and are facing malnutrition and the […]

Continue Reading

World Humanitarian Day: World needs more humanitarian heroes, says World Vision

World Humanitarian Day: World needs more humanitarian heroes, says World Vision

Opinion Globally, there are more than 60 million people in need of humanitarian aid around the world Increased international cooperation to protect humanitarian workers at risk European Union needs to better coordinate its humanitarian aid policy with other policies to ensure a rapid and effective response in conflict zone Since 2008, World Vision together with […]

Continue Reading

Europe’s support for humanitarian action

Europe’s support for humanitarian action

Every year on 19 August, World Humanitarian Day is observed in memory of the victims of the attack on the United Nations’ headquarters in Baghdad (Iraq) in 2003 which caused the death of 22 people including the UN Special Representative in Iraq Sergio Vieira de Mello. The European Union – the Commission and member states […]

Continue Reading