تقديم التبرع شنومك € لمراسل الاتحاد الأوروبي الآن

العلامة: ليبيريا

كما يوثر الاتحاد الأوروبي، الديمقراطية ل # ليبيريا معلقة في التوازن

كما يوثر الاتحاد الأوروبي، الديمقراطية ل # ليبيريا معلقة في التوازن

| نوفمبر 6، 2017 | 0 تعليق

وفي أعقاب الانتخابات الرئاسية التي جرت في شهر تشرين الأول / أكتوبر، وضعت الديمقراطية الليبرية موضع الاختبار. وتواجه الرئيسة المنتهية ولايتها إلين جونسون سيرليف اتهامات من داخل صفوف حزب الوحدة الخاص بها بتدخلها في الانتخابات، واتهامات قادتها المحكمة العليا في ليبيريا في نوفمبر / تشرين الثاني شنومكست لإصدار أمر مؤقت [...]

مواصلة القراءة

الرئيس الليبيري: "في السنوات 10 نريد نصف جميع الرؤساء أن تكون الإناث"

الرئيس الليبيري: "في السنوات 10 نريد نصف جميع الرؤساء أن تكون الإناث"

رئيس ليبيريا إلين جونسون سيرليف (في الصورة) دعا إلى مزيد من التعليم للفتيات وحددت خطط لها لجعل بلادها خالية من الإيبولا 15 أبريل في مقابلة بمناسبة الزيارة التي قامت بها إلى البرلمان. على 4 التقى مارس جونسون سيرليف رئيس البرلمان الأوروبي مارتن شولتز، وشارك أيضا في اجتماع المتعلقة [...]

مواصلة القراءة

استجابة الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى تفشي الايبولا في غرب أفريقيا

استجابة الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى تفشي الايبولا في غرب أفريقيا

تواجه غرب أفريقيا أكبر وأعقد وباء ايبولا على الاطلاق. غينيا وليبيريا وسيراليون هي البلدان الأكثر تضررا. وصل عدد المصابين الناس 22 900، أكثر من 9 200 منهم لقوا حتفهم. وكان الاتحاد الأوروبي نشطا في الاستجابة لحالة الطوارئ الايبولا منذ البداية. هو [...]

مواصلة القراءة

إيبولا يترك مئات الآلاف يواجهون الجوع في ثلاثة بلدان تضررا

إيبولا يترك مئات الآلاف يواجهون الجوع في ثلاثة بلدان تضررا

عدد الأشخاص الذين يواجهون انعدام الأمن الغذائي بسبب وباء ايبولا في غينيا وليبيريا وسيراليون قد تتجاوز المليون بحلول مارس 2015 ما لم يتم تحسين فرص الحصول على الغذاء بشكل كبير ويتم وضع تدابير لحماية إنتاج المحاصيل والثروة الحيوانية، وحذرت اثنين من وكالات الأمم المتحدة . تأثير المرض ويحتمل أن تكون مدمرة في [...]

مواصلة القراءة

الاتحاد الأوروبي يرتكب € 150m لوقف الايبولا الوصول إلى أوروبا

الاتحاد الأوروبي يرتكب € 150m لوقف الايبولا الوصول إلى أوروبا

وقد رحب أعضاء البرلمان الأوروبي العمل على قرار لارتكاب المزيد من 150 مليون € في تمويل الاتحاد الأوروبي لمكافحة فيروس إيبولا، في مناقشة عاجلة في ستراسبورغ اليوم (18 سبتمبر). و€ 11.9m التوجه نحو وقف انتشار فوري للفيروس القاتل في غرب أفريقيا، مع مزيد من € 140m لبناء مرافق الرعاية الصحية في [...]

مواصلة القراءة

استجابة واسعة أوروبا إلى وباء ايبولا

استجابة واسعة أوروبا إلى وباء ايبولا

بيان من مفوض تنمية اندريس بيبالجس والمساعدة الإنسانية والاستجابة للأزمات، كريستالينا جورجيفا مفوضة ومفوض الصحة تونيو بورج، في أعقاب اجتماع رفيع المستوى لتنسيق الاستجابة لتفشي الايبولا في غرب أفريقيا. "إن الاتحاد الأوروبي يشعر بقلق بالغ من وباء الايبولا في غرب أفريقيا، حيث استمر الوضع في التدهور. قلوبنا مع [...]

مواصلة القراءة

دعم الاتحاد الأوروبي لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لمليوني شخص في أفريقيا

دعم الاتحاد الأوروبي لتوفير الوصول إلى الطاقة لمليوني شخص في أفريقيا

لديه المفوضية الأوروبية اليوم (1 أبريل) أعلنت نتائج الدعوة الأولى لتقديم مقترحات لبرنامج مبتكر لتوفير التمويل لتوصيل الكهرباء إلى المواطنين الأكثر فقرا في العالم. ويوضح هذه المبادرة أيضا أن الاتحاد الأوروبي قد كانت رائدة في حملة لتوفير الطاقة المستدامة للجميع. منح 95 مليون € [...]

مواصلة القراءة

Make a €1 donation to EU Reporter Now

Tag: Liberia

As the EU dithers, democracy for #Liberia hangs in the balance

As the EU dithers, democracy for #Liberia hangs in the balance

| November 6, 2017 | 0 Comments

In the aftermath of the October 10 presidential elections, Liberia’s democracy is being put to the test. Outgoing President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is facing accusations from within the ranks of her own Unity Party (UP) of having meddled in the elections, accusations that led Liberia’s Supreme Court on November 6th to issue a temporary injunction […]

Continue Reading

Liberian president: ‘In 10 years we want half of all presidents to be female’

Liberian president: ‘In 10 years we want half of all presidents to be female’

Liberian president Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (pictured) called for more education for girls and outlined her plans to make her country Ebola-free by 15 April in an interview on the occasion of her visit to the Parliament. On 4 March Johnson Sirleaf met EP President Martin Schulz and also participated in a meeting related to the […]

Continue Reading

EU response to the Ebola outbreak in West Africa

EU response to the Ebola outbreak in West Africa

West Africa is facing the largest and most complex Ebola epidemic on record. Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone are the most affected countries. Over 22 900 people have been infected, more than 9 200 of whom have died. The European Union has been active in the response to the Ebola emergency from the start. It […]

Continue Reading

Ebola leaves hundreds of thousands facing hunger in three worst-hit countries

Ebola leaves hundreds of thousands facing hunger in three worst-hit countries

| December 17, 2014 | 0 Comments

The number of people facing food insecurity due to the Ebola epidemic in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone could top one million by March 2015 unless access to food is drastically improved and measures are put in place to safeguard crop and livestock production, two UN agencies warned.  The disease’s impact is potentially devastating in […]

Continue Reading

EU commits €150m to stop Ebola reaching Europe

EU commits €150m to stop Ebola reaching Europe

| September 18, 2014 | 0 Comments

Labour MEPs have welcomed the decision to commit more than €150 million in EU funding to the fight against Ebola, in an urgent debate in Strasbourg today (18 September). €11.9m will go towards stopping the immediate spread of the deadly virus in West Africa, with a further €140m to build health care facilities in the […]

Continue Reading

Europe-wide response to Ebola epidemic

Europe-wide response to Ebola epidemic

| September 15, 2014 | 0 Comments

Statement by Development Commissioner Andris Piebalgs, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response, Commissioner Kristalina Georgieva and Health Commissioner  Tonio Borg, following the high-level event to co-ordinate the response to the Ebola outbreak in West Africa. “The EU is gravely concerned by the Ebola epidemic in West Africa, where the situation continues to deteriorate. Our thoughts are with […]

Continue Reading

EU support to provide access to energy to two million people in Africa

EU support to provide access to energy to two million people in Africa

The European Commission has today (1 April) announced the results of the first call for proposals of an innovative programme for providing finance to bring electricity to the world’s poorest citizens. This initiative also shows that the EU has been a leader in the campaign to provide Sustainable Energy for All. Grants of €95 million […]

Continue Reading