First EU-Myanmar Task Force meeting in Yangon and Nay Pyi Taw

| November 8, 2013 | 0 Comments

1inleThe first EU-Myanmar Task Force will take place in Yangon and Nay Pyi Taw, 13-15 November. Its purpose is to provide comprehensive support to the transition in Myanmar/Burma by bringing together all of the tools and mechanisms – both political and economic (development aid, peace process support, investments) – available to the EU.

High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the European Commission Catherine Ashton will co-chair the Task Force alongside U Soe Thane, minister in the president of Myanmar’s Office.

European Commission Vice-President Antonio Tajani (industry and entrepreneurship) and Commissioners Andris Piebalgs (development and co-operation) and Dacian Cioloş (agriculture and rural development) will also participate in the Task Force.


The Task Force was announced in a joint statement by President Van Rompuy, President Barroso and President U Thein Sein, during the visit of President U Thein Sein to Brussels in March, 2013. Since then, the EU has lifted its all its sanctions with the exception of the arms embargo, re-opened trade benefits under the General System of Preferences and adopted a Comprehensive Framework on EU policies and support to Myanmar/Burma.

For more information, click here.


Facebook comments

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: A Frontpage, European Commission, External relations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Left Menu Icon