Tag: Polen

Der polnische Bürgermeister #PawelAdamowicz stirbt nach einem Stichangriff

Der polnische Bürgermeister #PawelAdamowicz stirbt nach einem Stichangriff

| 15, Januar 2019

Adamowicz vor einem Angriff bei der Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltung am Sonntagabend (13-Januar) [Agencja Gazeta / Bartosz Banka via Reuters] Der Bürgermeister der polnischen Stadt Danzig, Pawel Adamowicz (im Bild), starb, nachdem er von einem messerschwenkenden Angreifer erstochen worden war vor Hunderten von Menschen bei einer Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltung. Videomaterial zeigte, wie der Angreifer auf die […]

Weiterlesen

#COP24 - Polen, Europa und Kohle: Trolling oder Missverständnis?

#COP24 - Polen, Europa und Kohle: Trolling oder Missverständnis?

| 18 Dec, 2018

Die internationale Berichterstattung in den Medien hat die polnischen Gastgeber der Veranstaltung seit Beginn der COP24 scharf kritisiert, weil sie "provokativ" den polnischen Steinkohlenbergbau und die breitere "Kohleabhängigkeit" beleuchtet haben. Die Kontroversen in Katowice haben die Spannungen zwischen Polen und der Europäischen Union in Bezug auf Emissionsziele, Energiewende und die dauerhafte Abhängigkeit des Landes von der Kohlekraft wieder ausgelöst. Unter […]

Weiterlesen

#DontBeAMule - Mehr als 1,500 #MoneyMules in #MoneyLaundering weltweit gefunden

#DontBeAMule - Mehr als 1,500 #MoneyMules in #MoneyLaundering weltweit gefunden

In Zusammenarbeit mit Europol, Eurojust und der European Banking Federation (EBF) verhafteten Polizeikräfte aus 20-Staaten (bisher) 168-Personen im Rahmen einer koordinierten Geldwäscherei, der European Money Mule Action (EMMA). Dieser internationale Schlag, der vierte seiner Art, sollte das Problem der "Geldmules" in Angriff nehmen, […]

Weiterlesen

Umstrittener Think-Tank #ODF von polnischer Regierung untersucht

Umstrittener Think-Tank #ODF von polnischer Regierung untersucht

| 30. November 2018

Polnische Sicherheitsdienste haben wegen schwerwiegender Anschuldigungen bezüglich der Finanzierung der Open Dialogue Foundation (ODF) eine Untersuchung eingeleitet, schreibt James Hipwell. Die polnische Regierung hat gegen die Open Dialogue Foundation (ODF), eine umstrittene Denkfabrik mit Sitz in Brüssel, Ermittlungen eingeleitet, nachdem sie Beweise dafür gefunden hatte, dass die Organisation Finanzmittel von "Offshore" erhalten konnte. […]

Weiterlesen

EPP #Spitzenkandidat Manfred Weber besucht Polen

EPP #Spitzenkandidat Manfred Weber besucht Polen

| 22. November 2018

Manfred Weber, Spitzenkandidat der Europäischen Volkspartei für die nächsten Europawahlen und Vorsitzender der EVP-Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament, begann seine Europatournee am Dienstag 20 im November. Am Dienstagmorgen von 8h bis 10h besuchte er das Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum. Er hielt dann in Warschau Treffen mit Civic […]

Weiterlesen

#NuclearEnergy kann #Poland helfen, Emissionen zu reduzieren und Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen

#NuclearEnergy kann #Poland helfen, Emissionen zu reduzieren und Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen

| 20. November 2018

Polen muss in eine neue kohlenstoffarme Energiequelle investieren, um seine CO2-Emissionen zu reduzieren, so der polnische Energieminister Krzysztof Tchórzewski. Der Minister sprach auf der ersten World Nuclear Spotlight Poland-Konferenz in Warschau - eine hochrangige Veranstaltung, bei der polnische Entscheidungsträger und führende Vertreter und Interessengruppen der Nuklearindustrie zusammenkamen. Tchórzewski […]

Weiterlesen

Kommission zahlt nach Naturkatastrophen Hilfe für #Greece, #Poland, #Lithuania und #Bulgaria

Kommission zahlt nach Naturkatastrophen Hilfe für #Greece, #Poland, #Lithuania und #Bulgaria

| 19. Oktober 2018

Vier von Naturkatastrophen betroffene Staaten in Griechenland, Polen, Litauen und Bulgarien - 2017 - werden nach der Annahme des Kommissionsvorschlags durch das Parlament und den Rat in Kürze einen Betrag von insgesamt 34 Mio. EUR aus dem EU-Solidaritätsfonds (EUSF) erhalten. Die für Regionalpolitik zuständige Kommissarin Corina Creţu (im Bild) sagte: "Wir hatten versprochen, [...]

Weiterlesen

Tag: Poland

Polish mayor #PawelAdamowicz dies after stabbing attack

Polish mayor #PawelAdamowicz dies after stabbing attack

| January 15, 2019

Adamowicz before being attacked at the charity event on Sunday (13 January) evening [Agencja Gazeta/Bartosz Banka via Reuters] The mayor of the Polish city of Gdansk, Pawel Adamowicz (pictured), has died after being stabbed by a knife-wielding attacker in front of hundreds of people at a charity event. Video footage showed the assailant bursting onto the […]

Continue Reading

#COP24 – Poland, Europe, and coal: trolling or misunderstanding?

#COP24 – Poland, Europe, and coal: trolling or misunderstanding?

| December 18, 2018

From the outset of the COP24, international media coverage has harshly criticized the event’s Polish hosts for their “provocative” spotlighting of Poland’s coal industry and broader “coal addiction”. The controversies in Katowice have re-ignited tensions between Poland and the European Union over emissions targets, energy transitions, and the country’s enduring reliance on coal power. Beneath […]

Continue Reading

#DontBeAMule – More than 1,500 #MoneyMules identified in worldwide #MoneyLaundering sting

#DontBeAMule – More than 1,500 #MoneyMules identified in worldwide #MoneyLaundering sting

| December 6, 2018

  Working together with Europol, Eurojust and the European Banking Federation (EBF), police forces from over 20 States arrested 168 people (so far) as part of a coordinated money laundering crackdown, the European Money Mule Action (EMMA). This international swoop, the fourth of its kind, was intended to tackle the issue of ‘money mules’, who […]

Continue Reading

Controversial think-tank #ODF probed by Polish government

Controversial think-tank #ODF probed by Polish government

| November 30, 2018

Polish security services have launched an investigation into the Open Dialogue Foundation (ODF) following serious allegations about its funding, writes James Hipwell. The Polish government has launched an investigation into the Open Dialogue Foundation (ODF), a controversial think tank with an office in Brussels, after finding evidence the organization may have received funding from “offshore […]

Continue Reading

EPP #Spitzenkandidat Manfred Weber visits Poland

EPP #Spitzenkandidat Manfred Weber visits Poland

| November 22, 2018

  Manfred Weber, Spitzenkandidat of the European People’s Party for the next European elections and Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament, began his European tour by going to Poland on Tuesday 20 November.  On Tuesday morning from 8h until 10h, he visited the Auschwitz-Birkenau museum. He then held meetings in Warsaw with Civic […]

Continue Reading

#NuclearEnergy can help #Poland reduce emissions and create jobs

#NuclearEnergy can help #Poland reduce emissions and create jobs

| November 20, 2018

Poland must invest in a new low-carbon energy source if it is to reduce its CO2 emissions, according to Polish Energy Minister Krzysztof Tchórzewski. The minister was speaking at the inaugural World Nuclear Spotlight Poland conference in Warsaw – a high-level event which brought together Polish decision makers and global nuclear industry leaders and stakeholders. Tchórzewski […]

Continue Reading

Commission disburses aid to #Greece, #Poland, #Lithuania and #Bulgaria following natural disasters

Commission disburses aid to #Greece, #Poland, #Lithuania and #Bulgaria following natural disasters

| October 19, 2018

Four member states hit by natural disasters in 2017 – Greece, Poland, Lithuania and Bulgaria – will shortly receive a total amount of €34 million of aid from the EU Solidarity Fund (EUSF), following approval of the Commission’s proposal by Parliament and Council. Regional Policy Commissioner Corina Creţu (pictured) said: “We had promised not to […]

Continue Reading